Address: Matrosskaya str., 24
Build date: 1852
The first documented mention of the Nicholas Monastery is found in a letter of redemption by the monks in 1499, which is stored in the Karakal Monastery. In 1641, having gained independence, the monastery began the restoration of the Christian church of the 14th century – it stood until 1852.
In its place this one was built later on – brick, three-part in plan, with a semicircular oriental apse. The middle part of the structure is blocked by a dome on a high octagonal drum crowned with an onion head. The decor of the facades (window frames, perspective portals, frieze, vanes) was made in the forms of Russian architecture of the 17th century.
In 1912 it was overhauled with the restoration of frescoes.
The monks managed an exemplary economy in that time – were beautiful gardens, where fruits (apple, pear, apricot), hazelnuts and almonds grew in the monastery, and it was a lemon greenhouse behind the monks’ cells.
In 1935, at the initiative of Bishop Dionysius, an orphanage was opened here for orphans of Izmail and the Izmail region, for which special taxes were applied for clerks of the diocese.
The orders of the Ministry of the Interior of Romania on the development of tourism and the form of the city of Izmail from 1936 say that the monastery “fortress” was included into the tourist route along the city of Izmail.
In Soviet times the fate of the church was sad. First, in the 60s it used for a needs of the film distribution and then converted into a warehouse.
By the 90s, when its restoration as a historical monument began, unique murals had already been destroyed, and church utensils were looted.
To date, the church has been restored. In 2002, a 6-meter halftone bow cross was brought from the Solovetsky Islands, it is located on the territory of the church.